MyQ X Server

Perform the Upgrade

Perform the following steps during the scheduled maintenance window to upgrade MyQ X Server to version 10.3.

To run the upgrade, the logged-in user must have Local Administrator access.


Step 1. Disable MyQ Scheduled Tasks 

At the beginning of the upgrade process, you should disable all scheduled tasks. This prevents any long-running tasks from interrupting the upgrade.

Go to MyQ > Settings > Task Scheduler, right-click all the tasks, and click Enabled to disable the given tasks.  

For scheduled tasks that cannot be disabled, change the next scheduled run time.

Step 2. Stop Services

The installer attempts to stop all services. However, we recommend that you stop component services manually. This ensures that no users are logged in, and no tasks are in progress during the upgrade.

Go to Easy Config > Services tab and select Stop All Services. This may take a few minutes while the system waits for running tasks to finish correctly. Do not force-stop processes using Task Manager, as this may leave some tasks in an unfinished-state.

Step 3. Start the Database Server

For a successful upgrade of your system and database, your database service should be running.

If you are using the MyQ-provided Firebird DB, go to Easy Config > Services and manually start the Database Server service.

For installations using MS SQL, log in to the database server, open Windows Services and verify that the relevant SQL Server service has the status Running.

Step 4. Create a Backup/Recovery Point

The best time to back up the database is when all services have been stopped.

If your server is hosted on a VM, creating a snapshot is the most effective way to back up your system and date. If for any reason you need to rollback or abandon the upgrade, simply restore the VM to the snapshot.

Alternatively, to create a backup manually go to Easy Config > Database tab and select Backup. Store the backup in a secure location.

For Print Server, you must backup the Jobs folder manually. Copy the contents of the Jobs folder (by default C:\ProgramData\MyQ\Jobs) to a separate volume.

Step 5. Run the Upgrade

Close Easy Config, and run the MyQ X 10.3 executable to start the installation/upgrade wizard.

  1. Choose the language of the installation wizard and click OK.

  2. The installer detects your current system. Click Yes to continue with the upgrade.

  3. Accept the License Agreement and click Next.

  4. (Optional) Choose whether to:

    • Start services after installation (default: Yes, recommended)

    • Back up the database (default: No)
      Creates a backup similar to Easy Config. This is typically not necessary if you created a backup already. Note: This option is sometimes force-enabled, for example if an update needs to modify the database engine.

    • Clear the log (default: Yes)
      (Recommended) This speeds up the upgrade process, and old log data is available in the backup if needed.

  5. Click Install. The wizard completes the installation.
    After the wizard finishes, you have the option to complete the upgrade in Easy Config. This process will take time, especially with larger databases. Do not forcibly end this process.

If you are prompted to restart the system, first check if Easy Config is running.

If Easy Config is not running, proceed with the system restart.

If Easy Config is running, it may be performing a database upgrade. A restart will interrupt this process and may corrupt the database. Wait for Easy Config to finish, and then restart the system.

Step 6. Verify the Upgrade

  1. When the database upgrade is complete, Easy Config opens on the Home tab.

  2. Check Easy Config > Services to verify that all services are running.

  3. Go to Easy Config > Database and expand Main Database and Log Database. Verify that the tatus for both is OK.

  4. Go to Easy Config > About and confirm that the new version is displayed.

  5. Launch the MyQ Web Interface and perform the following checks:

    1. Go to MyQ > Log and search the logs for error messages.

    2. Go to MyQ > Settings > Licenses and check that the license information is correct.

    3. Go to MyQ > Settings > User Synchronization and confirm that your synchronizations are in place and correct.

    4. In a Central-Site environment, go to MyQ > Sites and verify that the site status is Ready, and the replication status is OK.

    5. Go to MyQ > Settings > Scheduled Tasks and check that scheduled reports generation is as expected.

Step 7. Perform Post-Upgrade Steps

Go to to MyQ > Settings > Task Scheduler, re-enable all tasks that you disabled, restore any schedules you temporarily changed, and verify the next run time of synchronization, replication, backup, maintenance, and report tasks.