The MyQ Desktop Client application enables the user to simply manage their print jobs on the computer where the jobs are sent from. This option is available if at least one of the three following features is enabled on the MyQ server:
The queue where the job is sent has the user detection method set to MyQ Desktop Client. User detection methods are described in User Identification.
User interaction script is set on the queue where the job is sent to; described in Interactive job processing.
Projects are enabled and the sending user has access to at least one project; described in Project management.
Submitting and deleting sent print jobs
With the above-mentioned features enabled on the MyQ server, sent jobs require additional information before they can be printed. After these jobs are sent to the MyQ server, they are paused there and cannot be printed until the necessary information is provided, for example until the user logs into MDC or until their project is selected.
Each time a job is sent to the server the job is paused. If user interaction scripts and projects are disabled, then the user will just need to log into MDC and the job will be assigned to the logged in user and it’s placed in the ready state. The job management window of the MyQ Desktop Client application appears on the screen if projects are enabled or if a user interaction script is enabled. In this window, the user can submit the job by clicking Print Job or delete it by clicking Delete Job. They can also select the Apply to all jobs option to submit or delete all the jobs in this way.
Selecting Logout without any action will also delete the logged in user’s print jobs. When the user logs out, all the unprinted jobs are, for security reasons, deleted from the server; no one else on a shared computer can now print those jobs.
Depending on the Accounting settings (accounting group or cost center) on the server, the user may be prompted to select an account where the job will be charged to.
In the Accounting Group mode:
Internal credit, external credit, and combined quotas (personal, shared, both) are the possible account options.
In case of combined quotas, only the lowest quota value is displayed.
If credit is used, no quota is spent (even when the quota is later edited and recalculated).
In case the user has personal quota "pages" and shared quota "cost" or vice versa, both pages and cost are displayed. For example: Quota (10 total/9 color/8 mono/7 scan /3 USD)
In the Cost Center mode:
Internal credit, external credit, personal quota, and multiple shared quotas are the possible accounts options.
Only one (selected) quota is spent, so all quotas should be displayed as separate accounts.
Cost Center selection in MDC should appear only for Direct Print queues.
If there is only one account available for the user, it is selected and charged automatically, thus there is no Select Account prompt.