With the Client Spooling feature enabled, users' print jobs are not sent to the MyQ server but stay stored at the users' computer. After they authenticate at a printing device and select the jobs to be printed, the jobs are released from the computer directly to the device. This method dramatically decreases traffic to the MyQ server and is suitable especially for small offices with limited network connection to the MyQ server.
When a user prints their job while this feature is activated, only the print metadata are sent to the server and the actual print job does not leave the computer (in fact, it is stored there as a RAW file). It waits until the user is authenticated at a printing device and selects to print the job there. Then, the printing device notifies the server, the server notifies the computer, and the computer sends the job to the printing device where it is printed.
There is a dependency on queue types:
A job from a Direct queue is printed immediately.
A job from a Pull Print and/or Delegated queue waits until the user has selected it.
A job from a queue marked as private is deleted immediately after printing.
Be aware that when MyQ Desktop Client receives a job, only the metadata for this job are sent to MyQ. The data file of the job is stored in MyQ Desktop Client on the machine
The protocol used for Client Spooling is decided by the Protocol setting in the corresponding MyQ Queue. Supported protocols are RAW, LPR, IPP, and IPPS.
For further information, see Client Spooling in the MyQ Print Server guide.
The queue’s user detection methods currently supported are "Job sender" and “MyQ Desktop Client”. Detection from the job’s PJL headers is not supported.
Job processing defined on the queue cannot be applied.
Release options, watermarks, prologues/epilogues, and print job policies are not applied to jobs. The print jobs are printed as configured in the print driver.
If the client PC is offline, the job is not printed, but it is marked as printed on the server. User is not notified.
Jobs cannot be marked as favorite.
The jobs are deleted after 7 days. The Delete jobs older than option on the System maintenance settings tab should be set to 168 hours (as it is by default) in order to prevent discrepancy between the data stored in MyQ and the data stored on the client computer.
Client Spooling is not available on Kyocera Embedded Lite devices.